

UArctic Assembly Meeting / Quebec City, Canada / May 2023

Agenda item: 5.3

Proposal – Approval of new Non-Arctic Members of UArctic

Proposal: The Executive Committee (Toyon) proposes that the Assembly makes the following decisions:

- a) The Assembly accepts the following applicants as Non-Arctic / Higher Education Institution members of the UArctic:
 - Indian Maritime University, India
 - Jilin University, China
 - Rashtriya Raksha University, India
 - University of Dundee, United Kingdom
 - University of Glasgow, United Kingdom
 - University of Tasmania, Australia
- *b)* The Assembly accepts the following applicants as Non-Arctic / Other members of the UArctic:
 - Arctic Basecamp Foundation, Netherlands
 - Halpin Research Centre, Ireland
 - Oxford University Polar Forum, United Kingdom
- **References:** UArctic Constitution / Article 3 Members

UArctic Bylaws / Sections 2.1 to 2.4 – Membership Structure

Summary of New Member Applicants 2023

Applicants:

By the membership application deadline in February 2023, the UArctic International Secretariat received seventeen (17) membership applications, including eight Arctic member and nine Non-Arctic member applications.

In addition, one applicant (Jilin University) had deferred their application in 2022 due to conflict in travel schedules and problems with sending a video presentation. In April 2023 they informed the UArctic International Secretariat about deferring the application again due to same reasons. However, in May 2023, during the pre-voting period, they submitted successfully a video presentation and informed about their willingness to proceed with their membership application to the Assembly voting. As their request was sent after the Assembly pre-voting period had started, their application wasn't included in the pre-voting.

Following an extensive review, the UArctic Membership committee nominated the following ten applicants to the category of Non-Arctic Member of UArctic; of which seven are Higher Education Institutions and three are other institutions.

Below each institutional name is hyperlinked to a copy of the application support letter and member profile received. Video presentations from the members who will not be able to join the meeting are provided, and visual presentations for the other member applicants will be provided closer to the meeting.



2023 Arctic Member applicants – Higher Education Institutions:

- 1. Indian Maritime University (India)
- 2. Jilin University (China)
- 3. Rashtriya Raksha University (India)
- 4. University of Dundee (United Kingdom)
- 5. <u>University of Glasgow</u> (United Kingdom)
- 6. University of Tasmania (Australia)

2023 Arctic Member applicants – Other institutions

- 1. Arctic Basecamp Foundation (Netherlands)
- 2. Halpin Research Centre (Ireland)
- 3. Oxford University Polar Forum (United Kingdom)