

UArctic Assembly Meeting / Quebec City, Canada / May 2023

Agenda item: 6.2

Proposal – Election of Board Student Representative

Proposal: The Executive Committee (Toyon) proposes that the Assembly make the following decisions:

- a) The Assembly accepts the nomination and elects **Viljo Vuorimäki** as Student Representative on the Board of UArctic for a fixed three-year term (2023-2026).
- b) The Assembly acknowledges and wishes to thank **Giuseppe Amatulli** for his contributions and time as Student Representative on the Board of UArctic (2020-2023).

References: UArctic Constitution / Article 5 – Governance and Administration

/ Article 10 - Annual Assembly

UArctic Bylaws / Section 4 – UArctic Board

/ Section 4.2 - Election of the Board

Open Call: Student Nominations for UArctic Board

Nomination letter – Viljo Vuorimäki

Background:

The student representation on the Board consists of three individuals, each appointed for a 3-year non-renewable term. Over a 3-year cycle, each student in their 1st year of appointment will serve as **representative**; in the 2nd year will serve as the **representative**; and in the final year, serve as the **outgoing student representative**.

In May 2023, Board student representative *Giuseppe Amatulli* will end his fixed three-year term on the Board of UArctic.

In January 2023, the UArctic's Nominations Committee decided to open a Call for Board Student Representative Nominations. The UArctic International Secretariat sent an open call to all UArctic higher education institution members, as well as published it on the UArctic website. The Nominations Committee evaluated two nominations received, and proposed the nomination of the following candidate to the Assembly Executive Committee (Toyon).

Nominated Candidate:

Viljo Vuorimäki 2nd year student on his Bachelor's degree, focusing on Political Science, at

University of Lapland, Finland.

Current Student Representatives on the Board of UArctic:

Giuseppe Amatulli (Outgoing Representative) <u>Durham University</u>, UK

Fixed term 2020-2023

Juho Kähkönen (Representative) University of Lapland, Finland

Fixed term 2021-2024



Montana Rose Murphy (Representative Elect)

<u>Dartmouth College</u>, USA Fixed term 2022-2025