

UArctic Assembly Meeting / Quebec City, Canada / May 2023

Agenda item: 9

Proposal – Election of Nominations Committee Members

Proposal: The Executive Committee (Toyon) proposes that the Assembly make the following decisions:

- a) The Assembly accepts the Board nomination and re-elects **Gail Fondahl** and **Sven D**. **Haakanson Jr.** as members of the UArctic's Nominations Committee for a 2nd three-year term (2023-2026).
- b) The Assembly accepts the Board nomination and elects Laila Hedegaard Pedersen as a member of the UArctic's Nominations Committee for a three-year term (2023-2026).

References: UArctic Constitution / Article 5 – Governance and Administration / Article 10 – Annual Assembly

UArctic Bylaws / Section 3.1.3 – Committees of the Assembly

/ Section 3.1.7 – Nominations Committee

Current Nominations Committee members:

Liisa Holmberg (Chair)	International Sámi Film Institute, Norway / 1 st term 2021-24
Mauri Ylä-Kotola	University of Lapland, Finland / 2 nd term 2022-25
Gail Fondahl	University of Northern British Columbia, Canada / 1 st term 2020-23
Sven D. Haakanson Jr.	University of Washington, USA / 1 st term 2020-23

Background:

Currently the Nominations committee has four elected members, as Yury Sumarokov's membership was paused in 2022. Gail Fondahl is working as a member of the External Review Team, and has disqualified herself from the work of the Nominations Committee until the work of ERT has been finished. Therefore, during the spring 2023, there has been only three active members in the Committee.

In the Assembly meeting 2023, the terms of Gail Fondahl and Sven D. Haakanson Jr. will end, and there are only two remaining members in the committee. The proposal is to elect three more members to the Committee to ensure enough resources to the work of the Committee.

In their meeting in April 2023, the Board of UArctic unanimously nominated Gail Fondahl, Sven D. Haakanson Jr. and Laila Hedegaard Pedersen as members of UArctic's Nominations Committee for three-year terms (2022-2025).



Nominated candidates:

Gail Fondahl, Professor of Geography from University of Northern British Columbia has served in the Nominations committee for three years now. She has contributed to the work of the Committee actively, and has expressed her interest in continuing in the committee for a second three-year term.

Sven D. Haakanson Jr., Associate Professor Anthropology & Curator Burke Museum at University of Washington has also served in the Nominations Committee for three years. He has been active member to the Committee. He has expressed his interest in continuing the committee for a second three-year term.

Laila Hedegaard Pedersen is the Head of Department of Translation and Interpreting Studies in Ilisimatusarfik / University of Greenland. She has actively contributed in the collaboration between the Danish Realm members through UArctic Danish Caucus, and is also the representative to UArctic Assembly from her institution.

Rationale:

UArctic Bylaws - 3.1.3 Committees of the Assembly

The Committees of the Assembly are - - Nominations Committee - -. Together, the Officers of the Assembly and the chairs of individual Committees form the Assembly Executive Committee (Toyon).

UArctic Bylaws - 3.1.7 Nominations Committee

Each member of the Nominations Committee is elected by the Assembly from slates of nominees prepared by the Board. Each committee member is elected for a three-year term, renewable once. The main responsibility of the Committee is to oversee UArctic's key nominations processes, including:

- Evaluating potential candidates for the Board and making recommendations to the Assembly for their selection based on UArctic's current priorities and needs, while reflecting our mission and values and ensuring a balanced Board representation and continuity;

- Nominating member representatives or alternates for Assembly officer positions, and for committee chairs and members, for election by the Assembly;

- Upon request, assisting the Assembly and other UArctic governance bodies with any nominations process.

The Nominations Committee operates independently from other core bodies of UArctic, namely, the Officers of the Assembly, the President, and the Board. Consequently, representatives from any of these three categories do not participate in the meetings of the Nominations Committee.