This congress occurs every 3 years, and is organized by the International Union for Circumpolar Health (IUCH, website: in conjunction with member society of the host country – in this case, the Canadian Society for Circumpolar Health (CSCH, website:

We encourage you to come, and to submit an abstract for presentation.

The deadline for abstracts is January 31, 2009, and for early registration is March 31, 2009.

You can find more information, including how to submit an abstract and how to register, on the Congress website at

You are encouraged to become a member, or renew your membership, in the Canadian Society for Circumpolar Health (CSCH), which will result in a discount in the registration fee for the congress. Membership forms may be downloaded from the CSCH website (listed above). Membership in the CSCH also entitles you to a free subscription to the International Journal of Circumpolar Health, which is the world’s leading journal on health issues in the Arctic and Antarctic regions.

The 2009 ICCH will focus on the Legacy of International Polar Year for Health Research and Action in the Circumpolar World. Sessions will include (but not be limited to):

Indigenous Knowledge

Healthy Communities: Physical (housing, water, sanitation), social, economic and cultural determinants

Healthy Communities: Interventions that support and promote health

Mental and Cultural health and resilience

Health Consequences of Oil, Gas, Mineral and other forms of economic development

Occupational health

Infectious and Chronic Diseases

Nutrition, Food security

Women’s Health

Child Health

Health of the elderly

International Health Surveys

Health Effects of Climate Change

Genetics, Physiology, Arctic Biology

Health Anthropology

Research ethics

Arctic contaminants and health

Health Policy, programs, development of innovative technology

We encourage you to submit an abstract and to come to the congress. This is an opportunity to learn and share our ideas and our vision for a healthy circumpolar world.

Pamela Orr
Co-Chair, Scientific Committee
ICCH 2009

Susan Chatwood
Scientific Committee
ICCH 2009
Yellowknife, NWT

Katherine Minich
Secretary, CSCH

Mark Buell
Treasurer, CSCH