In the previous years, the Arctic Council members states have sent their Arctic Ambassadors to the meeting but this year, the high-level representatives were academics from all the other Arctic countries except the United States. In addition, the new Arctic Council observer states, China, South Korea, India and Singapore, sent their representatives to the meeting. The meeting was hosted by the Russian Federation Security Council’s Secretary Nikolay Patrushev.