Meet the Team

Meet the core team of the Frozen Arctic Projects initiative

John Moore is a Research Professor at the University of Lapland, Finland, and the Lead of the UArctic Thematic Network on Frozen Arctic Conservation. His main research activities relate to climate engineering, sea level change, and ice sheet dynamics. Moore is a Member of Finnish Academy of Science and Letters; he has been a member of 6 Antarctic, 4 Greenlandic and 20 Svalbard scientific expeditions; and he was the chief scientist on 2007-2009 International Polar Year project "Kinnvika". Moore has authored over 200 articles (~21000 citations, H-index=61, 19 articles published in PNAS & the "Nature" group).
Marianne Hagen
Spokesperson, government relations and communications for the UArctic Tipping Point Actions program
Marianne Hagen is a former deputy minister of Foreign Affairs of Norway. She came to work with UArctic from the position of Executive Vice President of Aker Solutions, one of Norway's largest industrial companies delivering solutions, construction and services to the global energy industry. Marianne was Head of Communications at the Royal Court, and has worked as an advisor to the CEO of the Norwegian Shipowners Association. She has an extensive career in politics and as a board member of publicly listed companies. In UArctic, Marianne will be responsible for government relations and communications for the UArctic Tipping Point Actions program, as well as its spokesperson.
Tiina Kurvits is Senior Specialist in Ecosystem Management with GRID-Arendal. Working in environmental education, research, and government policy and regulation, her overall interest has always been to provide the information we need to help protect our shared environment. Since joining GRID-Arendal in 2002, Tiina has worked on a variety of projects and co-authored numerous publications relating to climate change, ecosystem management, food security, and biodiversity conservation. Her academic background is in Wildlife Biology from the University of Guelph and Environmental Studies from York University.