The agreement was signed by UArctic President Lars Kullerud  and First Deputy Minister of Science and Education, Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) Mikhail Jurievich Prysyazhny in front of the UArctic Board and local members institutions. Prysyazhny, who is also a member of the UArctic Board of Governors, noted that this new partnership with UArctic would serve two specific purposes: to build a system of mobility focussed on internal mobility between Yakutia and other partners in Russia, as well as to promote networks of technical colleges within the activities of UArctic.

The signing took place in conjunction with a meeting between members of the UArctic Board and representatives of local UArctic members in Yakutsk, who form one of the largest regional groups in the network. The members in Yakutia include founding UArctic institution (and host of the Board meeting) North-Eastern Federal University, as well as Arctic State Institute of Arts and Culture, Yakutsk State Agricultural Academy, Churapchinsky State Institute of Physical Culture and Sports, and Eastern-Siberian Institute of Economics and Management.

This agreement will bring additional capacity for UArctic members in Yakutsk to participate in UArctic activities such as Thematic Networks and mobility.