Winners of the Arctic Academic Action Award

Smartice Cover Photo  PHOTO: Michael Schmidt

The Frederik Paulsen Arctic Academic Action Award supports ideas that are action and solution oriented.

The 2022 winner is the PermaMeteoCommunity project / Marius O. Jonassen and Hanne H. Christiansen. The project develops an advanced permafrost and meteorological climate change response system based on real-time environmental data in order to build resilience and safety in Arctic communities. Read more about PermaMeteoCommunity here

The 2021 winner is SmartICE / Trevor Bell. SmartICE is a data acquisition and monitoring tool that contributes to more informed decisions for safer sea ice travel in local communities and supports community economic development such as outfitting and fisheries. Read more about SmartICE here