Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS) was established by order of Peter I on January 28 (February 8), 1724. It was reconstructed by the Presidential Decree of 21 November 1991 as the highest scientific institution of Russia.

Russian Academy of Sciences is the State Academy, which carries out scientific management of research in the Russian Federation. The main goal of the Russian Academy of Sciences is holding and development of basic research aimed at obtaining new knowledge about nature, society, human rights and contributing to the technological, economic, social and spiritual development of Russia.

In this article we would like to tell about three RAS institutions, two of which are UArctic Russian members.

1. Komi Science Centre, Ural Branch RAS

2. Karelian Science Centre RAS (UArctic profile)

3. Kola Science Centre RAS (UArctic profile)

All tree institutions play a big role in the development of the Arctic Science and research.