The Arctic Council Sustainable Development Working Group (SDWG) has endorsed the Summit as a project during the Finnish Chairmanship, co-led by Finland, Iceland, the Russian Federation and Gwich'in Council International.

Registration is open and we are encouraging consideration of sponsorship opportunities.

The Organizing Committee has confirmed sessions and begun to finalize speakers - see below

Confirmed Sessions:

  • International Energy Outlook
  • Progress on COP 21 Goals
  • Sustainable Development Goals
  • Addressing Climate Change as an Energy Producing, Consuming and Transporting Region
  • Investment Decisions – Nexus of Energy, Climate and Business
  • Transportation of Energy Within and Outside the Arctic Region
  • Local and Regional Development of Energy Resources

Renewable Energy

  • Renewable Energy Policy – Climate, Environment and Affordability
  • Integrating Renewables in Communities
  • Mobilizing Investments in Clean Energy
  • Mapping Renewable Energy Potential and Projects – AREA
  • Advances in Renewable Energy Technology

Remote and Offgrid Communities

  • Microgrid Technology Solutions in Remote Communities
  • Efficient and Scaled up Loads, M&O of Utility Operations
  • Energy Efficiency in Built Environment
  • ARENA and Capacity Building
  • Climate Change Influenced Building Design and Architecture

Petroleum-Related Activities

  • Oil and Gas Regional and Cross-Sector Cooperation
  • Carbon Intervention and Mitigation in Energy Extraction
  • Socio-Economic Spillover Effects of Energy Industries
  • Comparative Oil and Gas Standards and Guidelines
  • Technological and Process Innovation for HSE

Cross-Cutting Themes

  • Consultation and Stakeholder Engagement
  • Benefit Sharing Agreements
  • Analysis of Environmental Impact Assessments
  • Food Security and Energy Development

Confirmed speakers:
Mr. Riku Huttunen, Director-General, Energy Department, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment, Finland
Mr. Erling Kvadsheim, Norwegian Oil and Gas Association
Mr. Pekka Lundmark, CEO Fortum, Finland
Ms. Catherine Jahre-Nilsen, Statoil, Norway
Mr. Jari Suominen, CEO, St1 Nordic Renewable, Finland
Ms. Erika Velasquez, ABB, Switzerland
Mr. Robert Blaauw, Executive Director at RJB Consultancy Arctic & Energy
Mr. Dennis Johansson, Chair, Scanvac, Sweden
Mr. Stephen Mooney, Director, Cold Climate Innovation, Yukon College, Canada
Mr. Tero Vauraste, President and CEO, Arctia Ltd.
Dr. Rasmus Gjedssø Bertelsen, University of Tromsø - The Arctic University of Norway
Mr. Gary Henningh, City Administrator, King Cove, Alaska, United States
Mr. Alexey Kokorin, WWF Russia, and Mr. Alexander Shestakov, WWF Arctic Program
Mr. Lawrence Keyte, Polar Knowledge Canada
Ms. Sarah Cox, Head of Delegation, SDWG, Canada
Ms. Hanna Suutarla, R&D Manager, Arctia Ltd, Finland
Mayor Clay Koplin, City of Cordova; CEO, Cordova Electric Cooperative

Summary Report reviewing and encouraging consideration of

  • Best Practices
  • Potential Projects
  • Research Gaps

Strategic Planning

  • Affordability within Northern Communities
  • Renewables Policy and Funding
  • Oil, Gas and Climate

Visit for more information and to register.