The handbook contains forty chapters by fifty-one contributors from every occupied continent in the world, including Arctic Law Thematic Network members Betsy Baker, Karin Buhmann, Malgosia Fitzmaurice, Erik Franckx, Tore Henriksen, Ingvild Ulrikke Jakobsen, Juha Joona, Tanja Joona, Timo Koivurova, Sanna Kopra, Nengye Liu, Natalia Loukacheva, Bjarni Már Magnússon, Ted McDorman, Antje Neumann, Erik Røsæg and Donald Rothwell. They cover issues in international law, law of the sea, polar institutions, Indigenous rights, national perspectives and private law in the polar regions.  

The publication corresponds with the intake of the latest cohort in the masters programme in Polar law at the University of Akureyri.

The book is available in hardback or ebook on the publisher’s website, from which the first chapter can be downloaded free of charge.

If you would like to review the Handbook for the next volume of Yearbook of Polar Law, please contact book review editor, Federica Scarpa: